I'm a Tech, but damn, give me a break!

From software to hardware, breakthough to disaster, it all belongs here!

Moderator: CricketMX Forum Moderators

Layzie Bone
Mr. Computergeek Salad Guy

This new system I built, giving me a lot of grief. First the motherboard I ordered was DOA, sent it back, machine seems to work but now it reboots every 30 minutes, tried both vista, xp and ubuntu, all are doing the same thing.

The motherboard is a MSI P7N Diamond, with the nVidia chipset and JMicron RAID chipset. The memory I have is not listed at all under MSI's compatible hardware list.

The thing about the symptom is it usually occurs upon playing mp3's or videos or increased disk acsess. When I loaded MS Vista, the machine rebooted first when installation was "Checking System Performance." I figured it was simply that drivers weren't loaded caused the problem. However I did have difficulty installing the Video Drivers. MSI 8600 GT1G-EZ, The machine seemed to run fine for several hours, the machine rebooted randomly while running Vista, no correlation with anything. The funny thing about the reboots is that the operating system did not show any signs of errors, no messages about recovering from a serious error. So I assumed it was a driver issue, so I loaded XP. I had zero problems loading windows xp. The machine ran fine for almost a entire day. The reboots came again when I played music or videos, using Windows Media Player. The audio would also at times become choppy or loud static. One time it caused the computer to lock.