[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /viewtopic.php on line 988: date(): It is not safe to rely on the system's timezone settings. You are *required* to use the date.timezone setting or the date_default_timezone_set() function. In case you used any of those methods and you are still getting this warning, you most likely misspelled the timezone identifier. We selected the timezone 'UTC' for now, but please set date.timezone to select your timezone.
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /viewtopic.php on line 988: getdate(): It is not safe to rely on the system's timezone settings. You are *required* to use the date.timezone setting or the date_default_timezone_set() function. In case you used any of those methods and you are still getting this warning, you most likely misspelled the timezone identifier. We selected the timezone 'UTC' for now, but please set date.timezone to select your timezone.
CricketMX.com • View topic - How to implement <!-- IF S_IN_UQM --> ?

How to implement <!-- IF S_IN_UQM --> ?

All web design discussion, including Ultimate Quiz MOD support.

Moderator: CricketMX Forum Moderators

How to implement <!-- IF S_IN_UQM --> ?

Postby quahappy » Sat Feb 13, 2010 7:55 pm

Awkward Subject as doesn't really explain what I'm trying to achieve.

At my test site, I have phpBBArcade, UQM, and Hangman installed. What I am attempting is a custom banner for each add-on (UQM, Arcade, etc). ;)

I realised that there is an easy way of doing this by editing just the overall_header.html file and using the <!-- IF --> and <!-- ELSEIF --> statements. In my code where it loads [SITE_LOGO_IMG} is:

Code: Select all
<tr>
<td height="150" align="center" valign="middle"><a href="{U_INDEX}">
<!-- IF S_IN_ARCADE --><img src="http://screwballscribble.co.uk/phpbb3testing/styles/milky_way/imageset/screwball_arcade.gif"><!-- ELSEIF S_CAN_PLAY_HANGMAN --><img src="http://screwballscribble.co.uk/phpbb3testing/styles/milky_way/imageset/screwball_hangman.gif"><!-- ELSEIF S_IN_UQM --><img src="http://screwballscribble.co.uk/phpbb3testing/styles/milky_way/imageset/screwball_quiz.gif"><!-- ELSE -->{SITE_LOGO_IMG}<!-- ENDIF --></a></td>
G<td align="center" valign="middle"><h1>{SITENAME}</h1><span class="gen">{SITE_DESCRIPTION}</span></td>
<td align="right" valign="top">&nbsp;</td>
</tr>

Note: I will shorten links to {SCREWBALL_ARCADE_IMG] and [SCREWBALL_HANGMAN_IMG] by editing imageset.cfg

When viewing Arcade and Hangman sections, the relevant banner is displayed but for UQM, the default image is shown (which is what I expected) because S_IN_UQM isn't defined. Test site link: http://screwballscribble.co.uk/phpbb3testing/index.php. Select option below logo - ignore "Tournaments". Also ignore present UQM html layout as I'm working on these for the style I use.

Within phpBB3 files we use: define('IN_PHPBB', true);. It's the same case for phpBBArcade and Hangman which uses define('IN_ARCADE', true) and define('IN_HANGMAN', true) respectively.

How do I go about doing the same for UQM and the files/code I need to add please? :)
If you don't ask...
User avatar
quahappy
Happy, not Quappy
Happy, not Quappy
 
Posts: 2266
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 8:56 pm
Location: South Yorkshire, UK

Re: How to implement <!-- IF S_IN_UQM --> ?

Postby quahappy » Sun Feb 14, 2010 12:26 pm

Just an update:

I installed (at test site) the Custom Header Logo MOD (from phpBB.com) which does allow you to add custom headers to other pages other than specific forums. After much fiddling, I got it to work because all you need to do when adding in ACP > Custom header page is to remember to include every Page query. For UQM, for a custom header to show in all UQM pages, the following need to be added:

Page name for following two needs to be: quiz, and Page query in each entry:

mode=submit
mode=stats
mode=play

An additional three required for Page name: quiz_cp, and Page query in each entry:

mode=edit
mode=delete
mode=move

... then your UQM custom header will show on all pages within this excellent MOD. ;)

Still would be handy to know the answer to my question in first post though. :D
If you don't ask...
User avatar
quahappy
Happy, not Quappy
Happy, not Quappy
 
Posts: 2266
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 8:56 pm
Location: South Yorkshire, UK

Re: How to implement <!-- IF S_IN_UQM --> ?

Postby battye » Sun Feb 14, 2010 3:05 pm

I feel a bit bad because I still haven't had a chance yet to reply to havocwreaker in the other thread, but this request is pretty quick so hopefully I can reply pretty quickly.

In quiz.php and quiz_cp.php (any page where you want to have the custom header) towards the top of the file put:

define('IN_QUIZ', true)

Then in includes/functions.php find the page_header function. Look for the "$template->assign_vars" call and inside there you should see S_IN_ARCADE, S_IN_HANGMAN, etc. Somewhere in there add a new line that says:

'S_IN_QUIZ' => IN_QUIZ,

Save and reupload, re-upload your modified template files, refresh cache and hopefully that should do the trick :)
CricketMX.com.. home of bat's, rat's and other farmyard animals...
My articles: view all articles by battye

"OK, life [as you chose to define it] repeats until there are no more lessons to be learned." - nrnoble (June 12, 2005)
"the new forum looks awesome, it's getting bigger & better" - p2p-sharing-rules (11 Jan, 2008)
"Looks like CMX is not only getting bigger...but, also getting better!!" - moongirl (14 Dec, 2007)
User avatar
battye
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 14253
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2004 8:26 am
Location: Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe

Re: How to implement <!-- IF S_IN_UQM --> ?

Postby quahappy » Sat May 15, 2010 9:37 am

Forgot all about this topic. Sorry battye. :(

I didn't implement the code required in the end and used the Custom Banner MOD. Quite a few forums and add-ons (Hangman, Arcade, etc.) all now have it's own banner. :)
If you don't ask...
User avatar
quahappy
Happy, not Quappy
Happy, not Quappy
 
Posts: 2266
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 8:56 pm
Location: South Yorkshire, UK


Return to Web Design

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron