Page 7 of 32

Re: Ultimate Quiz MOD v2.0.0 Progress

Posted: Wed Dec 23, 2009 3:35 pm
by battye
Thanks for the offer Lugsciath, I was on vacation but I am back now and I have some good news. I think UQM is ready for a public release. I have finished the ACP now, and I am satisfied that it is in working order. I will send out a testing version to anyone who wants it, but in all likelihood I will release a full beta (I am sure it is ready for Beta, after all it has been in pre-alpha for a long time :lol:) tomorrow or maybe Christmas Day if people want it as a Christmas present :wink:

Thanks everyone for your patience. :)

Re: Ultimate Quiz MOD v2.0.0 Progress

Posted: Thu Dec 24, 2009 12:33 pm
by battye
I'm pleased to announce the first public Beta of the Ultimate Quiz MOD v2.0.0 :)

It is available for download at http://www.cmxmods.net/downloads/Ultima ... eta_1b.zip

Be sure to manually run (automatic installer will come soon) the SQL queries first before uploading the files, and to access the ACP module do the following:
IMPORTANT: To install the ACP module go to the phpBB3 ACP -> SYSTEM -> Module Management -> Click "Administration Control Panel" -> select ACP_QUIZ_INDEX_TITLE from the "Add module" list in the bottom right. Follow the instructions and refresh the ACP and the quiz tab should appear at the top.
To access the quiz page, go to /quiz.php (I will have an image ready for a header link soon hopefully)

Any questions, please feel free to ask :)

Re: [BETA RELEASED] Ultimate Quiz MOD v2.0.0 Progress

Posted: Thu Dec 24, 2009 1:55 pm
by darkonia
thx a lot battye for the first release xD

Re: [BETA RELEASED] Ultimate Quiz MOD v2.0.0 Progress

Posted: Thu Dec 24, 2009 1:57 pm
by battye
darkonia wrote:thx a lot battye for the first release xD
Thank you for waiting so patiently for it! :D
Merry Christmas!

Re: [BETA RELEASED] Ultimate Quiz MOD v2.0.0 Progress

Posted: Fri Dec 25, 2009 10:20 am
by xpmen
hello,
I try to add a gain points.
I use the mod simply point system

I create a table and access acp :wink:

but I know that this function may depend, but I do not know or place :? :shock:

Code: Select all

       // start addon point system

    $sql = 'SELECT *
        FROM ' . QUIZ_POINT_TABLE . "
        WHERE id = '" . $db->sql_escape($id) . "'";
        $results = $db->sql_query($sql);

        $row = $db->sql_fetchrow($results);
        {

        $point = $row['point'];
        
        $sql = 'UPDATE ' . USERS_TABLE . " 
        SET user_points = user_points + '" . $point . "'  
        WHERE '" . $user->data['user_points'] . "'"; 
        $db->sql_query($sql);
        // end point system      
can you help me please
I did several test, but without result

thank you

Re: [BETA RELEASED] Ultimate Quiz MOD v2.0.0 Progress

Posted: Fri Dec 25, 2009 12:39 pm
by battye
Hi xpmen, implementing cash/points functionality is one of my aims - probably for beta 2 (which will be out pretty soon, probably this week to give an indication).

In the mean time though, something like this:

FIND in quiz.php

Code: Select all

			// Delete all temporary/progressive data and update the view count of the quiz
			// We'll use the stats array as it looks nicer, and loosely related anyway
			$statistical_sql[] = "DELETE FROM " . QUIZ_PROGRESSIVE_TABLE . " WHERE quiz_progress_id = $submit_quiz_progressive_id";
			$statistical_sql[] = "UPDATE " . QUIZ_TABLE . " SET quiz_views = quiz_views + 1 WHERE quiz_id = $quiz_id";
AFTER ADD

Code: Select all

$new_points = $number_of_correct_answers * 5; // change number 5 to whatever a correct answer is worth
$statistical_sql[] = "UPDATE " . USERS_TABLE . " SET user_points = user_points + $new_points WHERE user_id = " . $user->data['user_id'];
The number 5 represents the number of points for a correct answer. So if you got 2 correct you would get 10 points, 3 correct = 15 points... etc. But you can just edit the number 5 to any number you want.

When I implement this feature you will be able to edit it from the ACP and choose which currency (ie. user_points, user_dollars, etc) to use, it will be very easy :)

I haven't tested that code above, but it should work.

Re: [BETA RELEASED] Ultimate Quiz MOD v2.0.0 Progress

Posted: Fri Dec 25, 2009 5:13 pm
by xpmen
a big thank you =D>

its works perfectly

thank you

I made the French language
you want?

Re: [BETA RELEASED] Ultimate Quiz MOD v2.0.0 Progress

Posted: Fri Dec 25, 2009 5:17 pm
by battye
Yes, the French language would be fantastic. Thank you :)
If you want, upload it as a zip attachment in a post here so that other people can download it if they want. Thanks.

I am still investigating why the foreign characters are not working. I did run those particular variables through utf8_normalize_nfc() so I will need to take a closer look at the code. Thanks for telling me :)

Re: [BETA RELEASED] Ultimate Quiz MOD v2.0.0 Progress

Posted: Fri Dec 25, 2009 5:49 pm
by xpmen
Here the French language

Re: [BETA RELEASED] Ultimate Quiz MOD v2.0.0 Progress

Posted: Fri Dec 25, 2009 6:07 pm
by xpmen
if I can allow myself a suggestion,
it'll be good to have on every page of the quiz link and stat quiz
(I was already added myself) Image

Re: [BETA RELEASED] Ultimate Quiz MOD v2.0.0 Progress

Posted: Sat Dec 26, 2009 12:14 am
by joebart
Hello and thanks for this great mod :)

I post here what I posted on phpbb.com :
joebart72 wrote:I've also a problem with accents :

Image

And all my tables are in UTF8_BIN...

I think navlinks in the html files would be helpful... :D

And 3 bugs :
1/ One of my members managed to post a quiz outside a category. So nobody can go into the quiz.
2/ One of my members managed to make a question with 4 answers but she has not selected the good reply. Se was able to submit the quiz.
3/ We are 4 to have been able to play three time the same quiz...

Re: [BETA RELEASED] Ultimate Quiz MOD v2.0.0 Progress

Posted: Sat Dec 26, 2009 5:08 am
by battye
xpmen and joebart, I haven't got an icon yet. As soon as I do I will add the header link :)

joebart:
1/ One of my members managed to post a quiz outside a category. So nobody can go into the quiz.
Thanks, I tried this myself and I was able to reproduce this. I'm sorry, I'll fix it now.
2/ One of my members managed to make a question with 4 answers but she has not selected the good reply. Se was able to submit the quiz.
I tried this a couple of times, but no matter what I do I get the error:

Code: Select all

You haven't selected one or more radio boxes, meaning you still need to select a multiple choice and/or true/false answer, or you have not yet filled in the quiz name and category.
Can you ask her what exactly she did in order to not select the correct answer? Was it multiple choice or true false (or even input answer)? Thanks
3/ We are 4 to have been able to play three time the same quiz...
I'll need to take a look at this, but can you check if in the ACP "Allow saved quizzes" is set to "no"? Thanks

I am working on the accents :)

Re: [BETA RELEASED] Ultimate Quiz MOD v2.0.0 Progress

Posted: Sat Dec 26, 2009 1:23 pm
by joebart
Yes, I allow members to save quiz :)

There are a few bugs but everybody really enjoy with quiz, very good work :) :)

If you can also include navlinks on style pages... :)

Re: [BETA RELEASED] Ultimate Quiz MOD v2.0.0 Progress

Posted: Sat Dec 26, 2009 1:49 pm
by battye
As I said, just need to get an icon first :)
If you or anyone else knows how to use Photoshop, I just want a 16x14 like this Image except with the question mark inside a square instead of a speech bubble :)

Re: [BETA RELEASED] Ultimate Quiz MOD v2.0.0 Progress

Posted: Sat Dec 26, 2009 1:56 pm
by xpmen
to the problem of accents, it can not come phpmyadmin [-X
but rather quiz.php
I made different test, no result
also with this code

Code: Select all

htmlspecialchars_decode(smilies_pass(censor_text(
or

Code: Select all

utf8_normalize_nfc(request_var(
:?

I am still looking :|


for links, I add this in each html page

I had to install the direct link, because I had a conflict with the statistical mod phpbb

Code: Select all

<div class="panel">
	<div class="inner"><span class="corners-top"><span></span></span>

	<ul class="linklist">
		<li><a href="quiz.php">Retour au Quizz</a> &bull; <a href="quiz.php?mode=submit">{L_SUBMIT_QUIZ}</a> &bull; <a href="quiz.php?mode=stats">{L_QUIZ_STATISTICS}</a><!-- IF CAN_ACCESS_CP --> &bull; <a href="{U_CP}">{L_QUIZ_CP_LOWER}</a><!-- ENDIF --></li>
	</ul>
	<span class="corners-bottom"><span></span></span></div>
</div>