Page 22 of 32

Re: [ALPHA 1] Ultimate Quiz MOD v2.1.0 Progress

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2011 10:43 am
by plasmino
no other debug error, now is perfect for me

Re: [ALPHA 1] Ultimate Quiz MOD v2.1.0 Progress

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2011 11:33 am
by quahappy
So far so good. Just testing it with normal user permissions now. No debug errors either (although I have debug off).

Quick question: Where is UQM configuration settings in ACP? :)

Re: [ALPHA 1] Ultimate Quiz MOD v2.1.0 Progress

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2011 11:36 am
by battye
quahappy wrote:So far so good. Just testing it with normal user permissions now. No debug errors either (although I have debug off).

Quick question: Where is UQM configuration settings in ACP? :)


ACP modules are on the to-do list for the next version. At the moment the configuration values can be adjusted manually in includes/quiz/quiz_configuration.php:

Code: Select all
      $this->qc_config_value = array(
         'qc_minimum_questions'      => 3,
         'qc_maximum_questions'      => 5,
         'qc_maximum_choices'      => 3, // maximum multiple choices
         'qc_show_answers'      => 1, // show the answers after a quiz
         'qc_quiz_author_edit'      => 1, // allow the author to edit their own quiz
         'qc_admin_submit_only'      => 0, // only administrators are allowed to submit quizzes

         // Cash compatibility
         'qc_cash_enabled'      => 0, // enable cash functionality
         'qc_cash_column'      => 'user_points', // associated column in the users table
         'qc_cash_correct'      => 20.54, // cash gained for a correct answer
         'qc_cash_incorrect'      => 10, // cash REMOVED for an incorect answer
      );


Edit: for the following values ('qc_show_answers', 'qc_quiz_author_edit', 'qc_admin_submit_only', 'qc_cash_enabled') 1 denotes "true" or "yes" while 0 denotes "false" or "no".

Re: [ALPHA 1] Ultimate Quiz MOD v2.1.0 Progress

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2011 11:39 am
by plasmino
quahappy wrote:Quick question: Where is UQM configuration settings in ACP? :)


nice question :D


for italian language

Re: [ALPHA 1] Ultimate Quiz MOD v2.1.0 Progress

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2011 11:40 am
by battye
Thank you for the Italian translation plasmino :)

I mentioned that the ACP module hadn't been written yet in the private message :D

The next version I hope to have:
- UMIL (instead of the quiz_installer.php file)
- ACP modules (at the moment I'm storing the configuration values in the quiz_configuration.php file)
- Categories (every quiz is going into one category right now)
- Input answer (only multiple choice/true+false are present in 2.1.0 because I realised if a user tried to use a number as input answer it could potentially give an error, because the text box names are a number relating to a particular answer... so I need to figure out a way to circumvent that)
- Perhaps time limits... I'm not sure yet.

Re: [ALPHA 1] Ultimate Quiz MOD v2.1.0 Progress

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2011 11:44 am
by plasmino
ops, I had not read the pm ^ _ ^

sorry

:lol:

Re: [ALPHA 1] Ultimate Quiz MOD v2.1.0 Progress

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2011 11:52 am
by quahappy
Thanks battye. Had overlooked that. :)

(I still had one remaining old UQM configurations file that appeared in ACP > General > Board Configuration > Board features. Threw me off track. Now removed).

Re: [ALPHA 1] Ultimate Quiz MOD v2.1.0 Progress

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2011 4:27 pm
by battye
After a little convincing ( :wink: ) I've decided to add a couple more features before the first public release (namely categories and ACP functionality). Of course, if anyone wants an advance copy of Alpha 1 to help with testing that is not a problem - just let me know and I will send you the files.

I've already implemented categories (I did that tonight), so I just need to get the ACP modules working now before I make the public release. Here are some screenshots of the categories:

uqm_v210_categories_edit.jpg
Categories - selected when adding or editing a quiz


uqm_v210_index_categories.jpg
What categories look like on the index - please note that an individual category can be viewed by clicking the category name



While I am posting screenshots, here is what the cash implementation looks like:
uqm_v210_cash.jpg
Cash results (after a user plays a quiz)

Re: [ALPHA 1] Ultimate Quiz MOD v2.1.0 Progress

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2011 4:56 pm
by Abera
Sorry... I should have posted here. Yes please send me the files.
Thanks

Re: [ALPHA 1] Ultimate Quiz MOD v2.1.0 Progress

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2011 4:57 pm
by battye
I've sent you a PM Abera :)

Thanks

Re: [ALPHA 1] Ultimate Quiz MOD v2.1.0 Progress

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2011 6:25 pm
by Abera
battye wrote:I've sent you a PM Abera :)

Thanks


This is what I get going live, or local:

It here a query that I can do manually?

[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /quiz_installer.php on line 55: mysql_query() [function.mysql-query]: Access denied for user 'SYSTEM'@'localhost' (using password: NO)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /quiz_installer.php on line 55: mysql_query() [function.mysql-query]: A link to the server could not be established
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /quiz_installer.php on line 55: mysql_query() [function.mysql-query]: Access denied for user 'SYSTEM'@'localhost' (using password: NO)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /quiz_installer.php on line 55: mysql_query() [function.mysql-query]: A link to the server could not be established
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /quiz_installer.php on line 55: mysql_query() [function.mysql-query]: Access denied for user 'SYSTEM'@'localhost' (using password: NO)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /quiz_installer.php on line 55: mysql_query() [function.mysql-query]: A link to the server could not be established

There was an error creating table phpbb_quiz...
There was an error creating table phpbb_quiz_questions...
There was an error creating table phpbb_quiz_statistics...
Installation is finished with errors.

Most likely me. #-o
Thanks

Re: [ALPHA 1] Ultimate Quiz MOD v2.1.0 Progress

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2011 7:59 pm
by quahappy
Abera wrote:Most likely me. #-o
Thanks

Nope - not you. Same happened to me and battye kindly pointed out what I needed to do (via PM):

battye wrote:Open quiz_installer.php and find if( !mysql_query($query) )

Replace with if( !$db->sql_query($query) )

As long as the tables don't already exist, that should work fine :)

The only reason I was using mysql_query was because $db->sql_query doesn't return errors in the way I wanted. Of course, mysql_query goes against the coding standard because it's database specific - but once I make a UMIL file that will no longer be a problem

As battye mentioned, installation issue won't be encountered when the UMIL file is created.

Hope that helps. :)

----------------------------------------------------------

I've playtested as Administrator and User and can confirm I have not encountered any issues. However, if I play and Submit a quiz without answering one or more questions, the results page shows as:

Code: Select all
Which home computer is the oldest?     Incorrect: You selected , the correct answer was Sinclair ZX81.


Can "No answer given" or similar be displayed or not show "You selected ." at all when no answer is given?


Also, I noticed one additional variable missing from Configuration settings: Can quiz author play own quizzes. Is this intentional? :)

Re: [ALPHA 1] Ultimate Quiz MOD v2.1.0 Progress

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2011 10:43 pm
by Abera
quahappy wrote:
Abera wrote:Most likely me. #-o
Thanks

Nope - not you. Same happened to me and battye kindly pointed out what I needed to do (via PM):

battye wrote:Open quiz_installer.php and find if( !mysql_query($query) )

Replace with if( !$db->sql_query($query) )

As long as the tables don't already exist, that should work fine :)

The only reason I was using mysql_query was because $db->sql_query doesn't return errors in the way I wanted. Of course, mysql_query goes against the coding standard because it's database specific - but once I make a UMIL file that will no longer be a problem

As battye mentioned, installation issue won't be encountered when the UMIL file is created.

Hope that helps. :)

That did it. :wink:
Thank you

Re: [ALPHA 1] Ultimate Quiz MOD v2.1.0 Progress

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2011 11:51 pm
by Abera
Code: Select all
Which home computer is the oldest?     Incorrect: You selected , the correct answer was Sinclair ZX81.

Off subject here, but quahappy... You have a Sinclair? My very first with all of the 4 meg and don't forget the burst mode. Then the Tandy. I don't remember the number on. Sold it in 1984. Then to the Vic 20, Commodore 64 and 128. I still have all of them and peripherals that go with them. Those were the days my friend. :)
The quiz is running fine for me.
Thanks

Re: [ALPHA 1] Ultimate Quiz MOD v2.1.0 Progress

PostPosted: Mon Feb 14, 2011 8:41 am
by plasmino
great news