Shoutbox Mod problem, changed server

All web design discussion, including Ultimate Quiz MOD support.

Moderator: CricketMX Forum Moderators

Heeter
Greenhorn
Greenhorn
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 9:23 pm

Hi Guys,

I moved my forums onto a new tower. I copied and pasted the forum and the sql folders over. The forums (phpBB2.0.19) are pretty much up and running okay, as is the database (Mysql5.0). The problem is with the shoutbox.

It was working fine in previous setup, but I cannot get it to work properly here. There is no previous entries listed, and when I put in a new shoutbox entry the screen goes white.

I tried running shoutbox_install.php and this the errors that I am getting.

Image

Anyone can tell me what I need to do to fix?


Thanks in advance,


Heeter
Heeter
Greenhorn
Greenhorn
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 9:23 pm

Here is the error when logging onto site.

Image



Thanks again,

Heeter
Heeter
Greenhorn
Greenhorn
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 9:23 pm

Hi all,

I just tried upgrading to 0.1.3 and I am still gettings the same errors.


Thanks,

Heeter
User avatar
battye
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14391
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2004 8:26 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Did you apply the changes to constants.php? Looks like you didn't:)
CricketMX.com in 2022: Still the home of bat's, rat's and other farmyard animals!

"OK, life [as you chose to define it] repeats until there are no more lessons to be learned." - nrnoble (June 12, 2005)
"the new forum looks awesome, it's getting bigger & better" - p2p-sharing-rules (11 Jan, 2008)
"Looks like CMX is not only getting bigger...but, also getting better!!" - moongirl (14 Dec, 2007)
Heeter
Greenhorn
Greenhorn
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 9:23 pm

Hi Battye,

Yes I did mod the constants.php file.

Code: Select all

// Shoutbox MOD
define('SHOUTBOX_TABLE', $table_prefix.'shoutbox');

Same error.

Thanks,

Heeter
Last edited by Heeter on Thu Jul 13, 2006 1:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
battye
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14391
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2004 8:26 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Could you please paste the contents of shoutbox_install.php here?

Don't forget to use the

Code: Select all

 tag.
CricketMX.com in 2022: Still the home of bat's, rat's and other farmyard animals!

"OK, life [as you chose to define it] repeats until there are no more lessons to be learned." - nrnoble (June 12, 2005)
"the new forum looks awesome, it's getting bigger & better" - p2p-sharing-rules (11 Jan, 2008)
"Looks like CMX is not only getting bigger...but, also getting better!!" - moongirl (14 Dec, 2007)
Heeter
Greenhorn
Greenhorn
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 9:23 pm

Code: Select all

http://hcctech.ca/forums/index.php
Now I have two shoutboxes, one on top and one on the bottom. Must be from the 013 mod.

Here is the sboutbox_install.php

Code: Select all


<?php
/***************************************************************************
 *                               shoutbox_install.php
 *                            -------------------
 *   begin                : Sat, Oct 26, 2005
 *   copyright          : (C) 2005 Battye @ CricketMX.com
 *   email                : cricketmx@hotmail.com
 *
 *   $Id: shoutbox.php, v1 (October 2005) battye Exp $
 *
 *
 ***************************************************************************/

/***************************************************************************
 *
 *   This program is free software; you can redistribute it and/or modify
 *   it under the terms of the GNU General Public License as published by
 *   the Free Software Foundation; either version 2 of the License, or
 *   (at your option) any later version.
 *
 ***************************************************************************/

define('IN_PHPBB', true);
$phpbb_root_path = './';
include($phpbb_root_path . 'extension.inc');
include($phpbb_root_path . 'common.'.$phpEx);
//include($phpbb_root_path . 'config.'.$phpEx);

$userdata = session_pagestart($user_ip, PAGE_INDEX);
init_userprefs($userdata);

$sql = array();
$sql[] = "CREATE TABLE `" . SHOUTBOX_TABLE . "` (
  `shoutbox_id` int(5) NOT NULL default '0',
  `shoutbox_datetime` VARCHAR( 255 ) NOT NULL default '',
  `shoutbox_text` varchar(255) NOT NULL default '',
  `shoutbox_author` int(5) NOT NULL default '0'
);";

$sql[] = "INSERT INTO " . CONFIG_TABLE . " (config_name, config_value) VALUES ('guest_shoutbox', '0')";
$sql[] = "INSERT INTO " . CONFIG_TABLE . " (config_name, config_value) VALUES ('rows_shoutbox', '5')";

	for ($i = 0; $i < count($sql); $i++) 
	{
		if( !$db->sql_query($sql[$i]) )
		{
		echo $i . ': The shoutbox table / rows could not be created (' . $sql[$i] . ')( ' . $db->sql_error() . ' )<br />';
		}
	}
	
message_die(GENERAL_MESSAGE, $lang['Shoutbox_table_made']);	
?>

Thanks for your help, Battye.

Heeter
User avatar
battye
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14391
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2004 8:26 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Try changing:

Code: Select all

$sql = array();
$sql[] = "CREATE TABLE `" . SHOUTBOX_TABLE . "` (
  `shoutbox_id` int(5) NOT NULL default '0',
  `shoutbox_datetime` VARCHAR( 255 ) NOT NULL default '',
  `shoutbox_text` varchar(255) NOT NULL default '',
  `shoutbox_author` int(5) NOT NULL default '0'
);";
To

Code: Select all

$sql = array();
$sql[] = "CREATE TABLE " . SHOUTBOX_TABLE . " (
  `shoutbox_id` int(5) NOT NULL default '0',
  `shoutbox_datetime` VARCHAR( 255 ) NOT NULL default '',
  `shoutbox_text` varchar(255) NOT NULL default '',
  `shoutbox_author` int(5) NOT NULL default '0'
);";
If that doesn't work, try:

Code: Select all

$sql = array();
$sql[] = "CREATE TABLE phpbb_shoutbox (
  `shoutbox_id` int(5) NOT NULL default '0',
  `shoutbox_datetime` VARCHAR( 255 ) NOT NULL default '',
  `shoutbox_text` varchar(255) NOT NULL default '',
  `shoutbox_author` int(5) NOT NULL default '0'
);";
CricketMX.com in 2022: Still the home of bat's, rat's and other farmyard animals!

"OK, life [as you chose to define it] repeats until there are no more lessons to be learned." - nrnoble (June 12, 2005)
"the new forum looks awesome, it's getting bigger & better" - p2p-sharing-rules (11 Jan, 2008)
"Looks like CMX is not only getting bigger...but, also getting better!!" - moongirl (14 Dec, 2007)
Heeter
Greenhorn
Greenhorn
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 9:23 pm

Hi battye,

Sorry, bud, no help, same errors.

Heeter
Heeter
Greenhorn
Greenhorn
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 9:23 pm

If I was to do a fresh install of 2.0.19, then did a restore backup through the admin panel, then fresh installed 0.1.3 Shoutbox, would it work, or work the restore backup put shoutbox 0.1.2 back in? cause it was in the restore backup that this started happening.

Hope you understand what I am asking. LOLOL

Heeter
User avatar
battye
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14391
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2004 8:26 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Heeter wrote:If I was to do a fresh install of 2.0.19, then did a restore backup through the admin panel, then fresh installed 0.1.3 Shoutbox, would it work, or work the restore backup put shoutbox 0.1.2 back in? cause it was in the restore backup that this started happening.

Hope you understand what I am asking. LOLOL

Heeter
I was referring to the first error regarding shoutbox_install.php.. are you sure that when you try the code changes above you get the same error?

In particular I'm referring to the very first error where it says CREATE TABLE `SHOUTBOX_TABLE` ....
CricketMX.com in 2022: Still the home of bat's, rat's and other farmyard animals!

"OK, life [as you chose to define it] repeats until there are no more lessons to be learned." - nrnoble (June 12, 2005)
"the new forum looks awesome, it's getting bigger & better" - p2p-sharing-rules (11 Jan, 2008)
"Looks like CMX is not only getting bigger...but, also getting better!!" - moongirl (14 Dec, 2007)
Heeter
Greenhorn
Greenhorn
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 9:23 pm

Image

Heeter
Heeter
Greenhorn
Greenhorn
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 9:23 pm

Even though it says "Shoutbox table created successfully" I still get debug errors upon login.


Thanks,

Heeter
User avatar
battye
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14391
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2004 8:26 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

On index.php you should find a few instances of:

Code: Select all

" . SHOUTBOX_TABLE . "
Replace them with

Code: Select all

phpbb_shoutbox
:)
CricketMX.com in 2022: Still the home of bat's, rat's and other farmyard animals!

"OK, life [as you chose to define it] repeats until there are no more lessons to be learned." - nrnoble (June 12, 2005)
"the new forum looks awesome, it's getting bigger & better" - p2p-sharing-rules (11 Jan, 2008)
"Looks like CMX is not only getting bigger...but, also getting better!!" - moongirl (14 Dec, 2007)
Heeter
Greenhorn
Greenhorn
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 9:23 pm

I did replace..(2instances)...... and the same error as posted above.


Thanks for your Help, Battye

Heeter
Post Reply