http://www.cricketmx.com:2095/

Any problems, suggestions, or comments about our site are to be posted here.

Moderator: CricketMX Forum Moderators

http://www.cricketmx.com:2095/

Postby KrazyKid » Sat Jun 04, 2005 12:44 am

i noticed that the url for the webmail log in is http://www.cricketmx.com:2095/. how do you do that?
KrazyKid
My new site is up!
thatothersite.net
KrazyKid
A Forum Addict
A Forum Addict
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue May 24, 2005 6:07 am
Location: Ashland, WI

Postby battye » Sat Jun 04, 2005 2:48 am

It would be on my hosts side, but it is because webmail uses port 2095. You can do this by altering the port for your site, 80 is the default, therefore you don't need to have the trailing port number. As soon as you alter this (say you made it 4000) you will need to tell your visitors to go to http://www.site.com:4000

Hope that helps :)
CricketMX.com.. home of bat's, rat's and other farmyard animals...
My articles: view all articles by battye

"OK, life [as you chose to define it] repeats until there are no more lessons to be learned." - nrnoble (June 12, 2005)
"the new forum looks awesome, it's getting bigger & better" - p2p-sharing-rules (11 Jan, 2008)
"Looks like CMX is not only getting bigger...but, also getting better!!" - moongirl (14 Dec, 2007)
User avatar
battye
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 14273
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2004 8:26 am
Location: Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe

Postby KrazyKid » Sat Jun 04, 2005 3:44 am

So you could just use that for anything? Like in place of sub domains? (wouldn't make any sense to, but i'm just curious :scratch: )
KrazyKid
My new site is up!
thatothersite.net
KrazyKid
A Forum Addict
A Forum Addict
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue May 24, 2005 6:07 am
Location: Ashland, WI

Postby nesman » Mon Jun 06, 2005 11:04 pm

I guess you could, but it's not very practical. I'm not sure if it would cause firewall issues. The biggest use I know of for that would be to host a website from your home computer via your ip, as many isp's block port 80 to stop you from hosting.
User avatar
nesman
Miracle Worker
Miracle Worker
 
Posts: 1399
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 8:17 am

Postby Rat » Tue Jun 14, 2005 3:02 pm

nesman wrote:I'm not sure if it would cause firewall issues.
Not with many home firewalls, but certainly institutional firewalls would be set to block browsers from accessing non-standard ports.
User avatar
Rat
Drain Brain
Drain Brain
 
Posts: 4398
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 9:38 am
Location: in the dark


Return to Site Comments

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests